Hello all.

************YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO POST ANYWHERE ELSE UNTIL YOU PROPERLY INTRODUCE YOURSELF HERE.*********

Hello all.

Postby Curious Pit » Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:04 pm

Hey everybody, I've been lurking on this board for a few months now and think I'm ready to start asking more questions about the breed. Being a recent college graduate I'm starting to strike off on my own and one of the things I've wanted was a dog. Although I've wanted one for quite some time I haven't done serious research up until about a year ago where I really began hitting the books, researching breeds, training, nutrition, and honestly trying to find out what is the best breed for me. As well as looking into dogs for apartments - a really uphill battle to fight considering every apartment I've seen seems to have breed restrictions here in Maryland but I won't stop looking yet!

Now I am not sure that the APBT is that breed, but I must admit that it is a breed that's really captivated me. In part it is the breed's plight, how it is so heavily maligned in the media and by the unknowing public and yet there are so many pockets of devoted fanciers that say so many good things about the breed. In learning about dogs in general I've learned about hte APBT, the responsibility it demands and the fine line each owner must walk between being a breed ambassador and helping the breed's image or slipping up and simply adding more fuel to fire that's gone almost out of control.

In essence I guess I want to help the breed that seems to have such a raw and boudnless love for its people and I can't think of many other dogs I'd want to own - and be able to save one of these dogs as well (yes, I am 100% planning on going to rescue as opposed to a breeder).

I really want to become a responsible owner, of whatever dog I choose, and by joining this board and asking questions - and reading a whole lot more - I want to decide whether the ABPT is the breed for me.