Hola from Washington

************YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO POST ANYWHERE ELSE UNTIL YOU PROPERLY INTRODUCE YOURSELF HERE.*********

Hola from Washington

Postby Azul » Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:20 am

Hi all - I live near Seattle and just go my first pit. He was a rescue of sorts and already has an appointment to be neutered next week. It is great to have a resources like this board that encourages rescue and spay/neuter! :) Once he's neutered he'll be ready to start working on his training to become an awesome family and farm dog.

Our new dog's name is Blue - not very original for a blue nose pit, but he came with the name and knows it, so we decided to keep it. The poor guy has already had enough family drama in his life that I don't want to confuse him more by changing his name. He's been abandoned a few times and has some separation anxiety as a result. We're already working on that and he's getting much better.

Aside from working full time, I'm also a horse trainer. While I've never trained a dog before, I can't imagine it would be that much different from training a 1200 pound hooved animal with a brain the size of a walnut. There are no open obedience classes in my area until March, so I'm going to try my hand at basic obedience at home and see how it goes for the next month or so.

Looking forward to chatting with everyone on the board and posting photos.
Azul
Newborn Bully

Re: Hola from Washington

Postby Enamorada » Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:34 am

Hola and welcome. :thumbsup:
Enamorada
Super Bully

Hola from Washington

Postby Stormi » Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:38 pm

Where about in the Seattle area are you? I'd be happy to suggest a training facility or two for you and your pup.
Stormi
Addicted to PBF

Postby MissKitty » Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:01 am

^ Stormi really knows her stuff, personally I would go any place she suggests :)

I hope you stick around and learn a lot!
MissKitty
Pit Bull Forum Addict

Postby Azul » Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:14 am