hello from a new pittie mom!

************YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO POST ANYWHERE ELSE UNTIL YOU PROPERLY INTRODUCE YOURSELF HERE.*********

hello from a new pittie mom!

Postby Porkchop » Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:56 pm

Hello all :) My name is Tara, I'm a vet tech from Washington state. Having worked in the veterinary field for the last 8 years I've fallen in love with pits and was always pretty sure I'd have one at some point in my life. My husband and I just bought our first house last year and decided it was time to add a dog to the family. Last weekend we came across a beautiful girl puppy on Craigslist (I know, I know) and while I'm generally extremely against backyard breeders this guy seemed interested in my offer to spay the mother and vaccinate her three pits in exchange for the puppy, and went we went to look at her yesterday we couldn't resist bringing her home. We have several other pets including cats and a 7# weenie dog who is still not sure she's super thrilled with the new addition but thinking about trying to like her. Here comes the embarrassing part....I find myself worrying a lot about her behavior and being very hyper sensitive to every twitch and grumble. I am ashamed to admit that the stereotypes that I've been so against my whole career are nagging at me and I worry about her being aggressive towards or hurting my tiny dog as she grows. I guess I have a lot to learn and am just not very comfortable in my dog training abilities and knowledge of reading body language so that's why I'm here. Hoping to gain some confidence so I can stop overreacting to everything and learn to be a good responsible dog owner. Its been ten or fifteen years since I've had a puppy and I've never had more than one dog at once. so..
there's my intro. I'm hoping to pick some brains and ask a lot of stupid questions and put my mind at ease :) looking very forward to getting to know you all and thank you for adding me to your group :)
Porkchop
Newborn Bully