Open obedience issue: dropping on sit/stay

Discuss Agility, Disc Dog, Dock Diving, Fly Ball, Lure Coursing, Schutzhund, Tracking, Weight Pull, and other Dog Sports here!
bahamutt99
Addicted to PBF

Open obedience issue: dropping on sit/stay

Postby bahamutt99 » Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:03 pm

I've been working on Loki's UCDX for a few years now. We're sitting at one leg, and would have had a 2nd this last weekend but for one vexing problem: the little lazybones is laying down on her out-of-sight sit/stay. (She blew one of her trials when she cut the corner on the broad jump, which is an easier fix.) She waited until 2:46 and 2:40 to plop into a down. The first time she even had the gall to pop back up into a sit like she'd been there the whole time. :po: This is the third time she's done this in competition, and the second time she's blown a shot at her leg based solely on that particular screw-up. (In other words, if she'd stay sitting, she'd be UCDX Loki by now and we could focus on more fun stuff like rally and agility.)

So. Obedience people. Any suggestions on how to correct this? Its usually me working dogs solo, so recruiting someone to pull her up when she downs is tricky. I've tried laying things under her (like jump poles), and she wont lay down with something under her, but she knows when those things aren't there. What would you do? I mean I could come running out of a blind and scare the daylights out of her when she drops, but I don't want to completely blow her stay (which is rock-solid at this point). The only other idea I've heard of was extremely old-school and involved one person trying to goad the dog into breaking position while the handler waited out of sight with a shock collar. That may work, but I don't really want to do it (and don't have an e-collar anyway).

HALP! Kthxbye.

chako
Bully Ambassador

Re: Open obedience issue: dropping on sit/stay

Postby chako » Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:00 pm