Prayers for Jasper

Talk about diets, exercise, and disease.
Kahlie
Forum Junky

Prayers for Jasper

Postby Kahlie » Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:56 pm

I've been hiding under a rock for a few months; it's been one thing after another...Been missing PBF though.

March 5th 2009, Jasper and Cyrus went to the vet's to get a check up, and I thought their shots were due, but they weren't; both were diagnosed as healthy.

Weekend of March 14/15, Jasper's right hind leg is swollen, and he's uber sore. After icing it that weekend, and an aspiring (followed by Metacam on Monday night), the leg was going down in swelling, and he was able to walk on it. During icing/massaging it, I noticed he had a very swollen lymph node in his groin, by his boy-part.

March 17th, Jasper is at the vet's getting examined. I'm told that, for whatever reason, he injured it, but it's fine now. She gave him a shot of steroids for his swollen leg, and his allergies (which weren't "really" acting up at the time). I was also told the swollen lymph node was in fact the "penis gland" and that I just didn't know my dog's size........

March 18th I take my cat to the vet (same clinic, but this time owner of the clinic). Only to have him diagnosed with cancer; won't be making it to summer. I ask him about Jasper and this gland; I'm told to bring Jasper to be seen.

March 23rd - Jasper is seen by owner of the clinic; I'm told it is NOT normal; to return next day for biopsy. I joke that it can't be lymphoma, I can't do 2 cancers in a year. He gives me a serious look; I break down crying.

March 24th, Biopsy done by vet who said "it's just the penis gland".

March 25th PM - Jasper's stomach/right leg has mysterious bruising, I panic. I'm told it could be from low blood platelets...........panic ensues.

March 26th - seen by "it's just the penis gland" doc; blood drawn.

Today: After 7 calls to the clinic; vet calls back with: