Rabies Risk - help

Talk about diets, exercise, and disease.
dra6onpit
Bully Lover 4 Life

Rabies Risk - help

Postby dra6onpit » Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:11 pm

I am just beside myself.

Two of my dogs met up with a raccoon that got in the yard yesterday morning. No apparent bite wounds and both were up to date on their vacs but still the cdc and animal control recommend a 45 day quarantine. My vet thinks that it is way long but I feel like I have to comply, not by law, because it feels like the responsible thing to do. Not to mention that I have a newborn and a two year old in the house. Vet says they would be ok with 10 days but I just can't take any chances. Unfortunately the raccoon left the yard so it couldn't be tested for rabies. Ugh.

There is so much conflicting information on the internet most concerning is that it takes 3-8 weeks for symptoms to develop and in some odd cases up to 6 months. My vet mentioned that this was primarily in non vac'd dogs and while I am no doctor, I can't figure out how that works.

I am quarantining one at the vet and one at home.

Vet is very encouraged(and encouraging) that they will be but only time will tell for sure.

Can anyone add any insight or have similar (hopefully good) stories to share.

I will fall apart if anything happens to either one at him.

dra6onpit
Bully Lover 4 Life

Re: Rabies Risk - help

Postby dra6onpit » Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:14 pm

noticed a left out word:

Vet is very encouraged(and encouraging) that they will be OK but only time will tell for sure

heartbullies

Postby heartbullies » Wed Aug 05, 2009 11:13 pm

In CA, it's a 30 full day quarantine if a currently-vaccinated dog contacts a wild animal, and the wild animal is gone or tests positive for Rabies. If the wild animal tests negative, no quarantine.

It's a ten-full-day quarantine for dogs if they bite a human, whether the dog is vaccinated or not.