Can cutting the quick cause infection?

Talk about diets, exercise, and disease.
Margot-A-Go-Go
Newborn Bully

Can cutting the quick cause infection?

Postby Margot-A-Go-Go » Thu May 26, 2011 10:48 pm

I'm probably just being a bit paranoid. I am a little new to dog ownership. I have always just had the vet clip Margot's nails before, because it is less traumatic for both of us. She is quite the wiggle worm. She always fights with all her might against nail clipping. I really don't know how they do it. She just goes in the back room and comes out with perfectly clipped nails, happy as a clam. Today my boyfriend and I spontaneously decided to do a hiking trip this weekend because we both had some time free. I thought it might be a good idea to try to give Margs a good trim before the hike. We wrestled with her for a good while when I finally thought we had her in a good spot and I had her foot securely in my grip. Right when I took the snip she wiggled fiercely again, I missed, heard a yelp and saw blood. I immediately put her feet in some luke warm water. We didn't have any corn starch or flour unfortunately. I know she'll be fine here, but I'm a little concerned if she's running around the wilderness in mud, and god knows what else, while were out. Could she get an infection from this? Should I be concerned at all about bacteria getting in there? Thanks!

Misskiwi67
Addicted to PBF

Re: Can cutting the quick cause infection?

Postby Misskiwi67 » Thu May 26, 2011 11:26 pm

Just give it 24 hours to dry up and form a solid clot before going for a mud-puddle romp and you should be OK. If you notice limping, do a saltwater soak, and get her to the vet asap.

yes, infections can occur, but they are rare.

Margot-A-Go-Go
Newborn Bully

Postby Margot-A-Go-Go » Thu May 26, 2011 11:59 pm