Interesting post about Vaccinations

Talk about diets, exercise, and disease.

Interesting post about Vaccinations

Postby kbreese » Thu Sep 02, 2004 7:01 pm

Found this online:

"Hi my name is Scott I am a veterinary student at Texas A&M. I was reading some of your info in vaccines and thought I'd up-date you a little. The only shots required for dogs are @ 8, 12, & 16 wks distemper/parvo and rabies at 16 wks. These same vaccines should be given again at 1 yr. From that point on the rabies if given a 3yr vaccine need only be given every 3 yrs. The distemper/parvo creates a 7-9 yr immunity if given as a puppy so adults should not be given distemper/parvo again until age 8yr, but even at this point they my not need it. I know its hard not to vaccinate every year, but over vaccination is more dangerous than not vaccinating at all.

(Scott)"

is this true that rabies shots only need to be given every 3 years and distemper/parvo shots not again until 7-9 years? Are there any other routine vaccines that dogs get? As far as I know its just these...
kbreese

Postby Leslie H » Thu Sep 02, 2004 7:54 pm

Yep, that is about what I've heard too. Rabies needs to be done to meet your state guidelines, and in some high rabies areas, people still do yearly. We tend to over vaccinate.
Leslie H
Regulator

Postby mnp13 » Thu Sep 02, 2004 9:45 pm

It all depends. Rabies can be 1-3 years, but you have to check your local laws. Past that, it depends on what you want to do with your dogs. TDI has some manditory vaccinations, some kennels and dog shows do as well.

I've never heard that giving a puppy a shot provides 7-9 years of protection - if that was true, why wouldn't the shot give the same immunity to an adult?

You can also get titre checks instead of vaccinating to see if the dog still has the immunity. Over vaccination is a HUGE problem, suspected in cancer and other diseases in animals as well as Autism in humans.

Michelle
mnp13

Postby barbponys » Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:41 pm