raw feeders, when do you stop worrying?

Talk about diets, exercise, and disease.
BabyReba

raw feeders, when do you stop worrying?

Postby BabyReba » Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:40 am

hey fellow raw feeders, i've been feeding my dogs an all-raw diet for going on 9 months or so now . . . in the past i've fed variations on the raw theme, 50/50 raw/kibble, etc.

my question is, when do you stop worrying every time someone says something to you about what you feed/how you feed, etc.?

today i called a butcher shop to ask about prices on scrap and offal and stuff, and the guy was super nice but very critical. he said he knows a lot of people who feed raw because they buy from the shop, and he said he brings some scrap home for his dogs but he still wouldn't feed them a straight raw diet . . . we talked for a bit and moved on from there. then when i asked him about chicken parts, he said he doesn't believe in feeding backs or necks, but he'd sell them to me if i really wanted them. and he also made a few comments about liver being too high in cholesterol, scrap and trimmings too high in fat, etc. seemed like every option they had for sale he was critical of, and even though i know what i want and i made an order (10 pounds of heart and 10 pounds of beef scrap and 5 pounds of liver, to supplement the K9 Kraving premade raw i feed) i can't stop thinking about all the various criticisms of the various cuts of meat i ordered.

when do you stop second-guessing your decisions and trust the information you have?

it makes me crazy--i would feel better, i think, if my vet was a raw feeding proponent but she's not. she tolerates it and won't try to get me to go back to kibble, but she won't advise on raw feeding either because it's not her area of expertise.

akaspaddero
Addicted to PBF

Postby akaspaddero » Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:58 am

omg! i just posted something similar to this on another board! LOL

GuardianAMBULL
2 Legit 2 Quit Bully

Postby GuardianAMBULL » Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:15 am