When does growth stop?

Talk about diets, exercise, and disease.
MyDogsRock022
Newborn Bully

When does growth stop?

Postby MyDogsRock022 » Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:10 pm

I have heard many people tell me that pit bulls do not technically stop growing physically until they are two?
The vet told me that they are considered adults at 6 months and to put them on adult food. Have you guys heard anything about any of this?

Allie
Addicted to PBF

Postby Allie » Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:14 pm

They generally gain height in their first year and fill out more in their second year. No, I wouldn't feed puppy food that entire time, personally. You may get some other opinions here too, though.

Jorsher
Bully Lover 4 Life

Postby Jorsher » Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:15 pm

I'm sticking with puppy food until about a year old, or until she seems to stop growing. When her weight stabilizes and she's a year or older, I'll probably switch to adult.

I'm not a professional either, so maybe someone else will chime in.

Misskiwi67
Addicted to PBF

Postby Misskiwi67 » Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:48 pm

Growth stops when the growth plates close, which varies greatly by size. For a 30 pound dog, probably around 8 months is more accurate. For a 10 pound dog, it can be earlier, and for large breed dogs like mastiffs and danes, growth doesn't stop until 14-18 months of age!

If you have a smaller pit, then switching to adult food at 6 months would be OK (I still prefer 8 months minimum), but if its over 50 pounds, keep it on the puppy food, preferably large breed compatible puppy food until 8-12 months.

MJay
Newborn Bully

Postby MJay » Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:52 pm

I was told by my vet to put my puppy on adolescent food when shes 6 months and then switch to adult food at 8 months. She said they mature a little faster than other large breed dogs.